2015 USA Arena Nationals

July 19, 2015

San Francisco, Dallas-Fort Worth take home gold from 2015 Arena National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - Sarah Walsh and Jeff Knott led their respective teams from San Francisco and Dallas-Fort Worth to the 2015 USA Curling Arena National Championships titles this afternoon at the Cedar Rapids Ice Arena.

It's the first arena national title for both teams and curling clubs at this event as Iowa played host to its first major curling championship.

Walsh (Oakland, Calif.) and teammates Kimberly Chapin (San Francisco), BriAnna Weldon (El Cerrito, Calif.), and Pamela Montbach (San Francisco) capitalized on early steal opportunities to defeat Toni Paisely's rink from La Crosse, Wis., 10-3.

Knott's team of Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas), and Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas) won in similar fashion as they were kings on both sides of the scoreboard - offense and defense - in defeating Mark Robinson's Pittsburgh team, 10-1.

In the bronze-medal matches, Katlyn Beebe's rink from Kalamazoo, Mich., got past Oklahoma's Nicole Merrifield, 11-3, with a big steal of five points in the fifth end that swung the game momentum in their favor. Jonathan Penney led his Cincinnati Curling Club team to an 8-4 victory over San Francisco's Jesus Barajas to earn the men's bronze medal.

The Arena National Championships concludes the 2014-15 championship season in the U.S. To view all of the results from this season go to www.usacurl.org.

Line score, gold medal game, women:
*San Francisco 214 030 xx - 10
La Crosse 000 201 xx - 3

Pittsburgh 001 00x xx - 1
*Dallas-Fort Worth 130 42x xx - 10
*last rock in first end

Gold medalists:
San Francisco Bay Area (Calif.) Curling Club: Sarah Walsh (Oakland, Calif.), Kimberly Chapin (San Francisco), BriAnna Weldon (El Cerrito, Calif.), Pamela Montbach (San Francisco)

Dallas/Fort Worth (Texas) Curling Club: Jeffrey Knott (Lancaster, Texas), Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas)

Silver medalists:
La Crosse (Wis.) Curling Club: Toni Paisley, Laura Mitchell, Laura Meyer, Erin Hoffland (all of La Crosse, Wis.)

Pittsburgh (Pa.) Curling Club: Mark Robinson (Pittsburgh), Nicholas Visnich (Beaver Falls, Pa.), Alexander Visnich (Beaver Falls, Pa.), Leonard Jarabeck (Pittsburgh)

Bronze medalists:
Kalamazoo (Mich.) Curling Club: Katlyn Beebe (Hastings, Mich.), Barbara Little (Kalamazoo, Mich.), Krista Ragotzy (Kalamazoo, Mich.), Tessa DeHaan (Kalamazoo, Mich.)

Cincinnati (Ohio) Curling Club: Jonathan Penney (West Chester, Ohio), Charles Newcombe (West Chester, Ohio), Darrell Brown (Mason, Ohio), Daniel Coviello (Sharonville, Ohio)

Fourth place finishers:
Oklahoma Curling Club: Nicole Merrifield (Edmond, Okla.), Angela Strange (Yukon, Okla.), Kristy Witzke (Oklahoma City), Jennifer Bates (Oklahoma City)

San Francisco Bay Area (Calif.) Curling Club: Jesus Barajas (Oakland, Calif.), Sean Franey (Bakersfield, Calif.), Jim Muyo (Martinez, Calif.), Anthony Del Porto (Oakland, Calif.)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Balance Plus and Sitrin, and is partnered with Hilton, United Airlines, CurlingZone, and RJM Licensing, Inc.

- With files from USA Curling